Click To Visit Carlow Kilkenny FC Website

Thanks To Our Main Sponsor:

McCalmont Cup
McCalmont Cup Winners 2017 - Evergreen United
McCalmont History

McCalmont Cup Roll of Honour

Freebooters are top of the pile with 15 McCalmont Cup title to their name.

The Blues, who won their first title back in 1955, are two clear of their city rivals Evergreen, the only team to lift the title three times in succession (1997-1999).

The city’s big two have dominated the competition, with 28 title wins between them, even more so in recent years. Freebooters won their eighth title in 1992 – they had to wait until 2000 to add number nine, but have won the cup six more times in the following 14 years.

Evergreen’s best spell of dominance came with four titles in the 1990s, but between them the clubs have all but owned the trophy since 2006 – the Lions brought the trophy out of the city, a result which has been mirrored in recent seasons by Callan United (2012) and Thomastown United (2016). Fellow city side Newpark became the first team in 17 years to become first-time winners when they beat Brookville in the 2013 final.

18/12/2017 18:10